“Demonic Bongolic Cannabinoise” Debut EP by Bongoloid

Demonic Bongolic Cannabinoise released Dec 27, 2022

Bongoloid is the cannabinoisy doom metal project of Franciso Calvinho, a multi-instrumentalist based in Rafaela, Argentina. His exploratory and experimental debut EP, Demonic Bongolic Cannabinoise, was released in December. It’s like a bowl fully packed with stoner doom riffs and weedy lyrics. If cannabis infused vocals, trance-inducing rhythms, and chunky doom tones are your bread and cannabutter, you’ll dig Bongoloid.

  1. By The Lighter And The Bowl 06:37
  2. The Altar Of The God Of Bong 3:15
  3. The Color Of Ashes 06:24
  4. Smoke & Mirrors 04:07

The guitars are thickly layered, providing thick walls of trance-inducing riffs and feedback infused leads, like on opener, By the Lighter and the Bowl. Frequent coughing and sustained bong hits are employed throughout the EP and used like additional instruments. The words are primarily cannabis oriented, as indicated by the song titles, and the smoky lyrics are delivered yell style, like early Elder, with occasional hardcore vocals like on the “creepy” The Color of Ashes. On the bottom line, Francisco lays down unique pattern-oriented beats, soaked in dubby reverb, paired with a thick, doomy bass tone, notable on The Altar of the God of Bong and instrumental closer, Smoke & Mirrors. The EP features trippy art provided by Tercer Ojo Disenio. It’s available on Bandcamp for $3.

New EP “Games” by Split Parasite

Games was released in December, 2022

Split Parasite is an alternative rock band from Fort Wayne, Indiana. The group was formed by guitarist and vocalist, “Ghosty” Sam Baker, and drummer and vocalist, Aaron Bushong, both of The Great Flood Catastrophe fame. Split Parasite produces a catchy mix of progressive, alternative rock, in the vein of bands like Incubus and Deftones. Their debut self-titled EP was released in April, 2022, and is followed by their latest release, Games.

Games dropped in December. It was recorded and mixed by Caleb Lewis of Champion O.I. Records. Caleb also provides additional guitars for the band’s live performances. Vocals were recorded by Ghosty Productions. Bass work was provided by Ryan Hart, also formerly of The Great Flood Catastrophe.

  1. The Weather 3:12
  2. Soft Division 2:55
  3. Games 4:13
  4. The Worst Thing is to Live Without 5:05

The EP clocks in at 15 minutes with four riffy tracks. Opener, The Weather, sets the standard for the EP with a killer guitar sound, progressive drums, and great vocal harmonies with some clever wordplay. Check out the cool 7/4 timing on the verses and that headbanger outro. Soft Division establishes serious groove, accentuated by creative guitar patterns, an incredible low-end bass tone, and some nice synth tones recorded by Bushong. Don’t miss innovative chord progressions and a heavy, Deftones-style changeup on Games. Closing track, The Worst Thing is to Live Without, features some super tasty vocal harmonies and an awesome chorus riff. Listen for a Baker’s nice guitar lead at the end of the track, underscored by Bushong’s tasty shuffle pattern on drums.

Games is a seriously groovy and creative EP from start to finish, and is a great followup to their Self-Titled EP. You can find it on Spotify. The band is active on social media and Youtube. There’s been no announcement of a physical release or future show dates, but hopefully we’ll be hearing more from the group, with fingers crossed for a full-length album.

Dead Meadow release Force Form Free

Force Form Free was released on December 9th

Dead Meadow is a psychedelic rock band. Formed in 1998 in Washington DC, the band is now based in LA. The group has spent the better part of 25 years immersing listeners in laid back, fuzzy audio waves. Their music is soaked in a deep groove you can almost taste, with wah drenched guitar leads that will astral project your ears into a different reality. Dead Meadow will appeal to fans of bands like Sleepy Sun, Black Mountain, and The Re-Stoned.

Force Form Free, the band’s latest album, was released through independent label, Blues Funeral Recordings. The album was produced for the label’s Post Wax vinyl subscription series, with the band “working up a disparate yet cohesive group of songs that placed new works alongside the culmination of ideas they’d been tinkering with since the band’s genesis.”

1. The Left Hand Path 6:51
2. The Lure of the Next Peak 5:51
3. Valmont’s Pad 4:27
4. To Let the Time Go By 3:20
5. Force Form Free 6:28
6. Binah 8:03

The album is mostly instrumental, immersing listeners in six richly layered psychedelic jams. We’re treated to dreamy reflections like chill tracks, The Lure of the Next Peak and Force Form Free, with it’s drony Middle Eastern sound. There’s plenty of groovy riffs and wah pedal steeped leads like on the fuzzy Valmont’s Pad. Jason Simon gives a taste of his distinct vocals on To Let the Time Go By and Binah, the only two tracks with lyrics.

Force Form Free is the perfect album for sinking into the sofa and letting your ears drift away to the dreamy rhythms. Check out the psychedelic visualizers for the tracks on Youtube. You can find the digital album on Bandcamp. Stream it or download the album for $7. Dyed vinyl is available for $26 and CD’s for $11. Check out the band’s website and social media.

Tour dates

JAN 14 The Lodge Room – Highland Park, CA