“Demonic Bongolic Cannabinoise” Debut EP by Bongoloid

Demonic Bongolic Cannabinoise released Dec 27, 2022

Bongoloid is the cannabinoisy doom metal project of Franciso Calvinho, a multi-instrumentalist based in Rafaela, Argentina. His exploratory and experimental debut EP, Demonic Bongolic Cannabinoise, was released in December. It’s like a bowl fully packed with stoner doom riffs and weedy lyrics. If cannabis infused vocals, trance-inducing rhythms, and chunky doom tones are your bread and cannabutter, you’ll dig Bongoloid.

  1. By The Lighter And The Bowl 06:37
  2. The Altar Of The God Of Bong 3:15
  3. The Color Of Ashes 06:24
  4. Smoke & Mirrors 04:07

The guitars are thickly layered, providing thick walls of trance-inducing riffs and feedback infused leads, like on opener, By the Lighter and the Bowl. Frequent coughing and sustained bong hits are employed throughout the EP and used like additional instruments. The words are primarily cannabis oriented, as indicated by the song titles, and the smoky lyrics are delivered yell style, like early Elder, with occasional hardcore vocals like on the “creepy” The Color of Ashes. On the bottom line, Francisco lays down unique pattern-oriented beats, soaked in dubby reverb, paired with a thick, doomy bass tone, notable on The Altar of the God of Bong and instrumental closer, Smoke & Mirrors. The EP features trippy art provided by Tercer Ojo Disenio. It’s available on Bandcamp for $3.

New EP “Games” by Split Parasite

Games was released in December, 2022

Split Parasite is an alternative rock band from Fort Wayne, Indiana. The group was formed by guitarist and vocalist, “Ghosty” Sam Baker, and drummer and vocalist, Aaron Bushong, both of The Great Flood Catastrophe fame. Split Parasite produces a catchy mix of progressive, alternative rock, in the vein of bands like Incubus and Deftones. Their debut self-titled EP was released in April, 2022, and is followed by their latest release, Games.

Games dropped in December. It was recorded and mixed by Caleb Lewis of Champion O.I. Records. Caleb also provides additional guitars for the band’s live performances. Vocals were recorded by Ghosty Productions. Bass work was provided by Ryan Hart, also formerly of The Great Flood Catastrophe.

  1. The Weather 3:12
  2. Soft Division 2:55
  3. Games 4:13
  4. The Worst Thing is to Live Without 5:05

The EP clocks in at 15 minutes with four riffy tracks. Opener, The Weather, sets the standard for the EP with a killer guitar sound, progressive drums, and great vocal harmonies with some clever wordplay. Check out the cool 7/4 timing on the verses and that headbanger outro. Soft Division establishes serious groove, accentuated by creative guitar patterns, an incredible low-end bass tone, and some nice synth tones recorded by Bushong. Don’t miss innovative chord progressions and a heavy, Deftones-style changeup on Games. Closing track, The Worst Thing is to Live Without, features some super tasty vocal harmonies and an awesome chorus riff. Listen for a Baker’s nice guitar lead at the end of the track, underscored by Bushong’s tasty shuffle pattern on drums.

Games is a seriously groovy and creative EP from start to finish, and is a great followup to their Self-Titled EP. You can find it on Spotify. The band is active on social media and Youtube. There’s been no announcement of a physical release or future show dates, but hopefully we’ll be hearing more from the group, with fingers crossed for a full-length album.

Howling Giant set for 4/20 release; heavy new single out now

Alteration, the instrumental EP by Howling Giant

The lockdown was tough on all of us, but especially for bands whose bread and butter is touring and selling merch. Some, like Nashville’s Howling Giant, have had to get creative in order to endure the quarantine. With regular Twitch streams as a way to connect with fans, including live jam sessions on Saturday nights, the progressive stoner rockers began creating impromptu instrumental jams to names created by audience members. Alteration, the new EP by the band, features four of these jams, crafted and refined in the studio. Look for the release on 4/20 and for now, check out their new single, Luring Alluring Rings.

With a rich psychedelic atmosphere, the track features an epic chord progressions, huge drum sound, and ethereal keyboard tones. The song has a beautifully melodic theme. In the middle of the track, listen for the soaring guitar solos and heavy chugging changeup, right before the triumphant return of the main theme in the last third of the song. Listen to Howling Giant’s new track, Luring Alluring Rings, and make sure to check out the full EP, Alteration, available for $5 on their Bandcamp page, out on 4/20.